What color is ‘taupe’ exactly?

I found myself asking that question when I pulled this sweet looking Jake Peavy mini from a random pack of 2008 Upper Deck Goudey. My girlfriend and I have made it a tradition to open some cards every Christmas Eve starting with 2008, so after getting our shipment of several packs of cards, we started breaking. We got just 3 packs of Goudey and sure enough we pulled a mini Peavy ‘taupe’ back numbered 1 of 8. I actually missed the numbering the first time I looked at the card; I think I have mentioned before that I am a sucker for serial numbers. Maybe the other 7 lucky owners of this card should get together and we can talk about our favorite piece of taupe clothing…or furniture? I think it’s pretty cool that we got this out of 3 packs considering Dave from Fielder’s Choice got 2 in his Goudey case.

peavy_goudey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been pretty quiet on the O’s front recently after a busy week last week. The only update I have is that it’s surfaced that Brian Roberts is ‘demanding’ a four-year deal versus the 3 year/ $30M that we offered him recently. Convention wisdom (and I agree) has him ultimately signing a 4-year deal with the Orioles after O. Hud gets taken off the market. I, for one, would love to see BRob in an O’s uniform his whole career. In other news, it’s been widely reported that the O’s are NOT interested in Ben Sheets. His injuries notwithstanding, I see no reason to offer him a 2-year deal if it will only take $8M per year to get him to sign…until next time…

-Chris

Leave a comment

Filed under Cards, Orioles

Leave a Reply

