25 days until Pitchers/Catchers report!

Ahhhh yes!  Florida will soon be welcoming Francisco Liriano, Scott Baker, Kevin Slowey, Nick Blackburn, Glenn Perkins, Joe Nathan, Joe Mauer, and a number of bullpen catchers I’ve never heard of.  This is the best time of the year.  I can almost smell the ballpark dogs and hear the crack of the bunt (don’t forgot I’m a Twins fan, we move the runner over, we don’t hit HRs).  Not only is Spring Training upon us, but it is time for me to start making my fantasy baseball excel spreed sheets.   Is there anything better than Spring Training, Fantasy Baseball, and bustin’ wax?

I’m interested to see who the Twins sign to fill the gap left by Pat Neshek’s injured arm.  I think Neshek will go down as the best setup man in Twins history, once he is healthy.  The Twins are interested in two players, Brandon Lyon and Eric Gagne (Chris once told me Gagne injured his arm throwing garbage bags in a Hefty commercial, worst part is I believed him).

During the first half of last year Lyon was used as a closer, and had a 4.70 ERA to go along with 26 saves.   The second half of the year Lyon was back to his natural position, setup man.  I’m excited about Lyon because in 2007 he was a promising setup man; he recorded 35 holds and 2 saves.  The problem with landing Lyon is he wants to be a closer, not an 8th inning guy.

Gagne is an intriguing option.  Everyone knows how awful he was last year, but I think people forgot he won the NL Cy Young award in 2003 and holds the MLB record for most consecutive saves.   He was pretty awful during the first half of last year, but I recall him having a strong second half.  If anyone can bring him back to his old form it’s Twins pitching coach Rick Anderson.  As much as I like the idea of having two fat relief pitchers (Gagne and Boof Bonser), the Twins won’t sign Gagne.  Two words……………..Scott Boras!  I also wonder if we did sign Gagne, would he go down in history with Ramon Ortiz and Livan Hernandez!  (Who?)

In the world of wax; I should be receiving 2 boxes of 2007 Fleer Ultra SE and 1 box of 2008 UD Timeline tomorrow.  Chris and I love to wax battle and see who gets the better pulls.  I’ll rip the SE with him and maybe do the Timeline with my girl.  I’m trying to convince her I’m not a loser because I’m 28 and collect picture cards of overpaid athletes.  It may make me a dork, but I’m no loser.  I have some collecting questions, but I think I will save them until my Thursday post.

Keep reading, and remember…smell your wax before you rip it!

-John

2 Comments

Filed under Cards, Twins

2 responses to “25 days until Pitchers/Catchers report!

  1. topher

    Hey John,

    I was just referred here on a comment left on my own blog, Crackin’ Wax crackinwax.wordpress.com and was told that, like myself, you are a huge ol’ Twins fan! Are you heading out to Twins Fest this year? I’m actually making my first trip out there on Friday night. I’m hoping to get a few of my custom cards graphed up while there. What do you think of the 3rd base situation? As much as I love him in Right, I’d love to see them try Cuddyer at the hot corner again. I know he was kind of sloppy the first time, but his glove has become a magnet since–and who can argue with that cannon of his? Have Punto, Harris, and Casilla rotate the middle infield, Young, Gomez, and Span in the outfield, and Kubel DH as a backup outfielder. Cuddy could be used as a backup as well.

    Keep up the good blog!

    topher

  2. Topher,

    Thanks for checking out our blog. I would LOVE to go to Twins Fest but I live in Northern Virginia. I like your idea of moving Cuddy to 3rd. I would like to see him start the season there and move to RF when Buscher is ready to take the reigns full time. I think this biggest problem the Twinkies will have this year is the rotation of the OF. But it is a great problem to have. Even though we haven’t made many moves this offseason, I’m very excited about our team. The SP rotation is going to be strong, and we have tons of depth on our bench. I may be one of the few people who think we should sign Joe Crede (if healthy). He can be a solid player for us while our 3B prospects gather experience.

Leave a Reply

