Mailday (soon) and Random O’s Thoughts…

Hey, this is Chris. I just got back from a buddy’s to watch the AFC Championship. While I’m a huge O’s fan, I’m only a passing Ravens fan as the Redskins are the team of choice. Growing up in the DC Area in the 80’s and 90’s, you really had to root for the Skins in football and the O’s in baseball if you wanted to pick the ‘local’ team. Once each city got their own NFL and MLB teams, it’s so hard to switch allegiances for more than a passing interest. That being said, I was pulling for the Ravens. Oh well…but most importantly, let’s all wish the best for Willis.

I’m pretty excited tonight knowing that tomorrow (hopefully) is mailday. I have a hobby box of 2007 Fleer Ultra SE Baseball and a mini box of 2007 Upper Deck Elements coming from http://www.dacardworld.com. I’ll break the mini box tomorrow and let everyone know what I pulled but I have to wait to break the Fleer box until the next time I meet up with John since he got the same product coming in. I’m a big fan of the Ultra product. I appreciate the no-borders photography and the hit-per-pack odds give me a good feeling. Another thing, I really like the 15 cards per pack deal. You can’t beat opening up a pack with mass like that. Remember the good old days when you bought a box of 1990 Donruss and you got 36 packs with 16 cards in each pack?! Speaking of that, my friends and I actually broke a box of 1990 Donruss that I found at my parent’s house the other day…WOW. Let’s just say we had a bracket-o-logy from that box of ‘players that couldn’t have possibly been pro athletes.’  Rance Mullinix took the championship; let me know your thoughts on good old Rance…

Something else that is on my mind today is the O’s activity. The off-season has been a little lackluster although I’m in the camp that Andy MacPhail is doing a great job and has a long-term plan that he is slowly pulling off. I don’t even want to get into the Tex deal though…Today the O’s traded Garrett Olson and Henry Williamson to the Cubs for OFer Felix Pie. While overall this was a good value trade, I’m not really sure why it was on our radar. Granted our outfield now reads (from left to right) Felix Pie, Adam Jones, and Nick Markakis but we already had a left fielder in Luke Scott and a back-up in Ryan Freel.  After years of nothing, the O’s farm system actually has a surplus of pitching prospects so it’s not a loss to lose Olson and Williamson is a fringe bullpen prospect. Anybody have thoughts on the trade?

Finally, there have been pretty strong reports floating around that the O’s and Nick Markakis are all but signed up for a six-year extension worth between $64-$66 million. This is the news I’ve been waiting for, but….it’s not been announced yet! As an O’s fan, I know that until it’s on http://www.orioles.com anything can happen. This seems legit though since the quote basically came from MacPhail himself. I would love nothing more than to lock up Kake’s first three years of free agency.

Now what to do with Brian Roberts? See you all tomorrow and thanks to Dave at Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog for some tips and the link.

1 Comment

Filed under Cards, Orioles

One response to “Mailday (soon) and Random O’s Thoughts…

  1. I think the Felix Pie trade was great for the Orioles – he’s a very talented player who could really thrive for them. I think I heard that Luke Scott is moving to DH. Freel was a really nice pickup too. And congrats on the possibility of Markakis signing a long-term deal. He is an awesome player and one of my favorite non-Rays to watch!

Leave a Reply

